U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

North Lower Western MI (NLWM) Planning Sub- Area


This website is devoted to coordinating emergency planning and preparedness efforts within EPA’s North Lower Western Michigan (NLWM) Planning Area. The NLWM planning area is made up of seventeen Michigan counties: Barry, Clinton, Eaton, Gratiot, Ingham, Ionia, Jackson, Kent, Lake, Mason, Mecosta, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, and Ottawa. 

As part of sub-area planning, EPA creates a Sub-Area Contingency Plan (SACP), which outlines major response and planning considerations for oil discharges within the sub-area. A major goal of the SACP is to serve as a mechanism to ensure responders have access to essential sub-area specific information and to promote interagency coordination for an effective response. As such, the SACP has been prepared for the use of all agencies engaged in responding to environmental emergencies and will contain useful tools for both government and private party responders.

NOTE: The Michigan Mapping Project is located here for stakeholders and here for government entities.  The Michigan Mapping Project is a Geographical Information System (GIS) environmental emergency response tool that brings public (Federal, State and local) entities and private sector emergency responders together for spill response and pre-planning. 

For additional information, visit the Notices section.