Siouxland Sub-Area

31 counties surrounding Sioux City, IA - Region VII

Site Contact:

Randy Schademann

31 counties surrounding Sioux City, IA 51101

Latitude: 42.4757000
Longitude: -96.3856950

The Siouxland Sub-Area is a collaborative effort of federal and state agencies, emergency managers, tribes, and local emergency responders within the geographic area surrounding the Missouri River and its tributaries from river mile marker 860 to 642. Planning and outreach activities were initiated by EPA Region 7 and partner agencies to facilitate a timely, effective, and cooperative response to a discharge of oil or release of hazardous substances that may pose a threat to public health and sensitive environments within the Sub-Area.

To guide these efforts, the Siouxland Sub-Area Contingency Plan was developed to coordinate the response to a substantial discharge or threat of a discharge through integrating the actions of the unique combination of private industry and local, state and federal entities that have jurisdiction within the Sub-Area. The Siouxland Sub-Area includes the following counties and tribal entities:

Iowa: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Harrison, Ida, Lyon, Monona, O’Brien, Osceola, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sioux, and Woodbury Counties.

Minnesota: Lyon, Jackson, Nobles, Pipestone, and Rock Counties.

Nebraska: Burt, Cedar, Dakota, Dixon, Knox, Thurston, and Wayne Counties, as well as the Omaha and Winnebago Tribes of Nebraska.

South Dakota: Clay, Lincoln, Minnehaha, Union, and Yankton Counties.