Central Kansas Wetlands Subarea

Barton, Reno, Rice, Sedgwick and Stafford Counties, KS - Region VII


Site Contact:

Jeff Pritchard


Barton, Reno, Rice, Sedgwick and Stafford Counties, KS 67573

Latitude: 38.0709700
Longitude: -98.4908100

The Central Kansas Wetlands Subarea (CKWSA) includes Barton, Reno, Rice, Stafford and Sedwick Counties in central Kansas. The purpose of the Central Kansas Wetlands Subarea (CKWSA) Contingency Plan (CKWSACP) is to facilitate a timely and effective cooperative response by representatives of local, state and federal agencies to a discharge of oil or release of a hazardous substance in the CKWSA. The objective of the CKWSACP is to coordinate an expedited response to a substantial discharge or threat of a discharge through integrating the actions of the unique combination of private industry and local, state and federal entities that have jurisdiction within the CKWSA. The CKWSACP is intended as a supplement to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Region 7 Regional Integrated Contingency Plan (RICP). The CKWSACP was prepared under Section 311(j) of the Clean Water Act (CWA), as amended by the Oil Pollution Act of 1990 (OPA or OPA 90), 33 United States Code (U.S.C.) 1251 et seq., the National Oil and Hazardous Substances Pollution Contingency Plan (NCP), 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) part 300, and the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA), 42 U.S.C. § 9601, as amended. The CKWSACP— in conjunction with the National Response Framework (NRF) and Region 7 RICP, and state and local plans—will apply to discharges of oil and/or releases of hazardous substances as defined in Section 300.3 of the NCP.